The Energy Healing Site is a unique, free resource. It takes me (Nancy) many hours each week to sustain and expand it. If it is valuable to you, please consider supporting it with a donation.

Seven Chakra Charts:

The Basics You Need To Know About The Chakras

The 7 chakras© Little_prince |

Each chakra chart below gives the basic information you need to know to start working with and healing each of the 7 chakras.

Chakras are energy centers, or portals in the human energy field. Located along the central line of the body from the base of the spine to the top of the head, they are conceived of as whirling, wheel-like vortices through which universal/cosmic energy flows into and out of a person.

There are seven major chakras, plus many minor ones. Each chakra corresponds to specific glands, organs, and facets of your being.

The first chakras chart gives you an overview. The second provides more details.

Chakra Chart 1: An Overview

Number Common English Name Location Color Element Related To Ideal Level of Functioning
1 Root Chakra Base of spine Red Earth Physical self, self-preservation, survival instincts, connection to our bodies and the earth Physical health, abundance, security, sense of ease in the world
2 Sacral Chakra Low abdomen, lower back, reproductive organs Orange Water Sexuality, emotions, eroticism, pleasure, creativity, sensation Sexual/erotic health and fulfillment, ease with change, creativity, generativity, grace, feeling, fluidity, balanced emotions
3 Solar Plexus Chakra Solar Plexus (upper abdomen between navel and sternum) Yellow Fire Ego, will, metabolism, personal power Personal power, will, effectiveness, personal energy
4 Heart Chakra Center of body at heart level Green Air Love, integration, self-love, compassion, healing, relationships Ability to feel compassion, love deeply; healthy intimate relationships
5 Throat chakra Base of throat Light blue Sound Communication, self-expression, creativity Ability to express self, manifest personal essence in the world, and communicate well; rich creative life
6 Brow chakra, Third Eye Forehead, between and slightly above eyebrows Indigo Light Sight, both physical and intuitive/psychic; intellect Clear thought, understanding, strong intuition, ability to see clearly
7 Crown Chakra Top of head White or violet Thought Spiritual life and experience, deep self-knowledge, sense of oneness and unity, connection to the One, pure consciousness, transcendence Wisdom, spiritual connection, spiritual understanding, sense of connection

Chakra Chart 2: More Details About the Seven Chakras

Number Common English Name Hindu Name Related Organs Related Sound Related Sense
1 Root Muladhara Bones, tailbone, adrenal glands (according to some), legs, feet, colon Lam Smell
2 Sacral Svadhisthana Sexual organs, bladder, prostate, womb, kidneys Vam Taste
3 Solar Plexus Manipura Digestive organs and system, immune system (according to some), adrenal glands (according to some), muscles (according to some) Ram Sight
4 Heart Anahata Lungs, thymus, heart, respiratory & cardiac systems, arms, hands Yam Touch
5 Throat Vishuddha Throat/neck, mouth, ears, nose, sinuses, thyroid & parathyroid glands, shoulders, arms, hands Ham Hearing
6 Brow, Third Eye Ajna Eyes, pituitary gland, hypothalamus, medulla plexus Om Neutral
7 Crown Sahasrara Upper skull, cerebral cortex, pineal gland Breath or silence None

Learn More About Chakras and Chakra Healing

Chakra Care by Nancy Hausauer
"Chakra Care: Do-It-Yourself Energy Healing for a More Joyful, Loving, Fruitful Life" is a practical, easy guidebook that teaches you lots more about the seven chakras, how to tell if they are open and balanced or if they need support, and how you can align, clear and support each chakra with many fun, practical, down-to-earth activities and exercises. Learn more or buy it here.

You can also find a lot more information about chakras on this site. Visit the Chakras Main Page for access to 19 more articles.

Go from Chakra Chart to site home page .

Chakra Care book

Chakra Care:

Do-It-Yourself Energy Healing for a More Joyful, Loving, Fruitful Life

Learn to clear, nurture and support your chakras with 500 fun, down-to-earth activities. A user-friendly, practical guide, available as a paperback or Kindle. Learn more or buy it here.