The Energy Healing Site is a unique, free resource. It takes me (Nancy) many hours each week to sustain and expand it. If it is valuable to you, please consider supporting it with a donation.

The Seven Chakra Symbols

Chakra symbols -- the age-old, meaning-packed images that represent the seven chakras -- are beautiful to behold and contemplate.

Chakras are energy centers, or portals in the human energy field. Located along the central channel of the body from the base of the spine to the top of the head, they are conceived of as whirling, wheel-like vortices through which universal/cosmic energy flows into and out of a person.

There are seven major chakras, plus many minor ones. Each chakra corresponds to specific glands, organs, and facets of your being. 

Each chakra has a distinct symbol associated with it.

  • 7th Chakra--Crown
    (Top of head)
    Thousand-petalled lotus

  • 6th Chakra--Brow/Third Eye
    (Between the eyebrows)
    Two large petals, circle containing a down-facing triangle

  • 5th Chakra--Throat
    Sixteen petals, circle containing a down-facing triangle containing a circle

  • 4th Chakra--Heart
    (Center chest)
    Twelve-petaled lotus, circle containing two intersecting triangles

  • 3rd Chakra--Solar plexus
    (Upper abdomen)
    Ten petals, circle containing down-facing triangle

  • 2nd Chakra--Sacral
    (Lower abdomen)
    Six petals, circle containing a crescent moon

  • 1st Chakra -- Root
    (Base of Spine)
    Four red petals, square with a down-facing triangle

How to Use Chakra Symbols

The chakra symbols can be used individually as mandalas for meditation. While the symbolism of each is deep and complex, you don't need to understand it completely for it to help you focus your energies in support of its associated chakra. There is power in these symbols that does not need and goes far beyond our intellectual understanding.

If you're trying to heal, support or cultivate a particular chakra, it also can be helpful to keep the symbol for that chakra near you. For example, you might carry in your pocket a stone with one of the symbols etched into it, wear an item of clothing with one of the symbols embroidered on it, tape a symbol to your bathroom mirror or refrigerator, or simply carry one of symbols printed on paper in your wallet.

Creating art incorporating a particular symbol can also be a powerful chakra-healing experience.

All seven chakra symbols can also be used together for meditation. This can help to balance and integrate the entire chakra system -- the ultimate goal of any chakra work.

Learn More About the Chakras And Ways You Can Nurture and Support Them

Chakra Care by Nancy Hausauer If you'd like to learn more about chakras and how you can support their health, you may enjoy my book, Chakra Care: Do-It-Yourself Energy Healing for a More Joyful, Loving, Fruitful Life, which I wrote to help people understand the chakras and learn ways that anyone -- not only professional energy healers -- can balance, align and nurture them.

This practical, highly readable resource has over 500 down-to-earth activities and exercises. It's is a "just-right" explanation of the chakras for beginners, but it has loads of fresh ideas and perspectives for more experienced energy workers, too.

More Information About Chakras

For more information about chakras on this website, you can go to the Chakras main page, where you'll find access to 19 more articles.

Go to site home page .

Chakra Care book

Chakra Care:

Do-It-Yourself Energy Healing for a More Joyful, Loving, Fruitful Life

Learn to clear, nurture and support your chakras with 500 fun, down-to-earth activities. A user-friendly, practical guide, available as a paperback or Kindle. Learn more or buy it here.