The Energy Healing Site is a unique, free resource. It takes me (Nancy) many hours each week to sustain and expand it. If it is useful to you, please consider supporting it with a donation.

Healing the Chakras

Working with Your Subtle Energy Centers
to Improve Health and Happiness

Healing the chakras--clearing, opening, and balancing them--can help  you maintain the health of your physical and energetic bodies.

The seven chakras
Clearing, opening, and balancing your chakras can help you maintain the health of your physical and energetic bodies.

Healing the chakras can be done in many ways. It's something that an energy healer can do for you, or that you can do for yourself or for members of your family.

Skip directly to chakra healing techniques.

What Are the Chakras?

Chakras are energy centers or portals in the energy field. They play an important role in the health of your energy systems, including your physical body.

Located along the central channel of the body from the base of the spine to the top of the head, they are conceived of as whirling, wheel-like vortices through which universal/cosmic energy flows into and out of a person.

There are seven major chakras, plus many minor ones. Each chakra corresponds to specific glands, organs, and facets of your being. You can learn about each of the individual chakras here.

Chakra Health

Chakras can become blocked or imbalanced. With a chakra blockage, the free flow of energy in and out, plus the flow of energy to other chakras, is impeded. If the chakras are imbalanced, one or more chakras is over-active or underactive compared to the others.

Blockages and imbalances in a chakra can result in disturbances--sometimes profound--in a person’s health, emotions, mind, spirit, or life.

What does a healthy chakra system look like?

On the subtle level, the chakras in a healthy chakra system are each a clear vibrant version or their true color; each is spinning clockwise; and each is clear and open. The chakras as a whole are in relative balance to each other--that is, none is extremely overactive or underactive compared to the others. Energy flows freely into and out of each one. Energy also flows freely vertically up and down the central channel, between the seven chakras.

On a physical level, a healthy chakra system usually manifests as:

  • a relatively healthy physical body with good vitality
  • a basic sense of security and safety in the world
  • balanced sexuality, neither under- nor over-active; creatively active
  • sense of self-worth, ability to make things happen in the physical world
  • balanced, healthy relationships, connection to nature
  • ability to express own truth, to express self, to listen as well as talk
  • intellect balanced with other attributes of intelligence; active intuition
  • sense of meaning in life; sense of connection to a higher power or larger purpose
As you can see, a person with a totally healthy chakra system would be a very healthy person indeed, in mind, body, and spirit. Don't expect yourself to fulfill the ideal in each chakra!

More Ways to Discern the Health of Your Chakras

Here are some links to other ways to discern if your chakras are imbalanced or blocked:

Energy Healing Techniques for Healing the Chakras

So what can you do to clear and balance chakras that need healing? There are so many ways of healing the chakras, many of them relatively easy to learn to do.

Chakras, as aspects of subtle energy, respond to intention, so it doesn't really matter what method you use. Just choose a method for healing the chakras that works well for you, one that you resonate with.

Below is a sampling:

The Individual Chakras and Down-To-Earth Ways to Clear and Balance Each of Them

For detailed information about each of the individual chakras, and easy ways that you can clear and balance each of them:
  1. Overcome anxiety and fear by clearing your root chakra
  2. Open to joy by clearing your sacral chakra.
  3. Unlock your personal power by clearing your solar plexus chakra.
  4. Open to the love that is all around you here by clearing your heart chakra.
  5. Speak and live your truth by clearing the 5th chakra.
  6. Develop your capacities for clarity, intuition, and spiritual insight by cultivating your Third Eye chakra (sixth chakra).
  7. Learn to cultivate your crown chakra (seventh), helping you develop your capacities for spiritual growth.

More Information About Chakras

For general information about chakras, you can go to the Chakras main page.

For more detailed information about chakras, go to this chakra chart.

Go from Healing the Chakras to Chakras main page.

Go to site home page .

Sign up for my free weekly blog and updates!

Learn more about energy healing, including practical tips to keep yourself and your family healthier and happier. You'll receive my "Seven Chakras at a Glance" chart as a gift.

* indicates required
Preferred Email Format

New! Comments

Have a comment for me? Have your say in the box below.

Chakra Care:

Do-It-Yourself Energy Healing for a More Joyful, Loving, Fruitful Life

Learn to clear, nurture and support your chakras with 500 fun, down-to-earth activities. A user-friendly, practical guide, available as a paperback, ebook or Kindle. Learn more or buy it here. 

Sign up for my free blog and updates!

Learn more about energy healing, including practical tips to keep yourself and your family healthier and happier. You'll receive two gifts: my "Seven Chakras at Glance" chart and "First Chakra: Get Beyond Anxiety To A Sense Of Peace And Security."

* indicates required
Preferred Email Format

Visit my Facebook page!

Like it once you get there to get a daily tip or inspiration in your timeline.

The Energy Healing Page

Promote Your Page Too